Themes of contemporary art : visual art after 1980 / Jean Robertson, Craig McDaniel Women, art, and society / Whitney Chadwick Postcolonialism : an historical introduction / Robert J.C. Young Looking in : the art of viewing / essays and afterword, Mieke Bal
Looking in : the art of viewing / essays and afterword, Mieke Bal Gaga feminism : sex, gender, and the end of normal / J. Jack Halberstam Manet's Le déjeuner sur l'herbe / edited by Paul Hayes Tucker  	A decade of negative thinking : essays on art, politics, and daily life / Mira Schor

Art History majors develop a range of critical perspectives vital to a comprehensive understanding of art, which are drawn from both classroom and studio experience. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Art History program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR ART HISTORY MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 140 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Art History-related journals are:

  • African Arts
  • American Art
  • The Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • ARTnews
  • FMR: The Magazine of Franco Maria Ricci
  • National Gallery Technical Bulletin
  • Modern Painters
  • Museum International
  • Tate etc.
  • Woman’s Art Journal

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Art History, including location and date of holdings:

  • Art History. PMA: 1978-present.
  • History of Art Research Reports from the National Gallery of Art Center for Advanced Study in Visual Arts. PMA: 1981.
  • Journal of Art Historiography. PMA: 2009-present.
  • The American Journal of Archaeology and of the History of the Fine Arts. FLP: 1885-2009.
  • Critical Inquiry. FLP: 1974-2009.
  • Eye to Eye: Bulletin of the Graphic History Society of America. FLP: 1953-1956.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, CALL NUMBER, OR ISBN. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Art History-related materials are:

You can also search by period (“20th Century”), style (“abstraction”), movement (“Cubism”), or artist name (“Picasso, Pablo”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Art History-related materials:

  • N: Visual Arts
  • N1-58: General
  • N61-79: Aesthetics
  • N81-390: Study & Teaching
  • N400-3990: Art Museums, Galleries, etc.
  • N5300-8266: History of Art
  • N6537: Individual Artists
  • N8354-8355: Women Artists
  • NA: Architecture
  • NA190-1555.5: History of Architecture
  • NB: Sculpture
  • NB60-1115: History of Sculpture
  • NC50-266: History of Drawing
  • ND: Painting
  • ND49-813: History of Painting
  • NE: Print Media
  • NK: Decorative Arts
  • NK600-806: History of Decorative Arts
  • NX: Arts in General
  • NX440-632: History of the Arts

TOP

Online Resources

The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives. You can find the works of over 8000 different fine artists in online museum and gallery collections.

Art History Resources on the Web is an extensive index of art history related websites put together by Dr. Christopher Witcombe, a professor of art history at Sweet Briar College. The website is organized by time period and location, and also provides research resources (including online journals), an index of museums and galleries, and a listing of art history news and blogs.

As part of its ongoing work the Association of Art Historians is pleased to make available to the public the Oral Histories Project, Artists’ Paper Registrar, Bulletin Archive, suggested links, job opportunities, and a directory of independent and freelance Art Historians.

The Dictionary of Art Historians is an online biographical dictionary of major art historians, past and present. The site includes bibliographies on works by historians, as well as works about his/her life.

The Getty Research Institute website includes digital collections, research guides, bibliographies, and free access to both the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA).

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum’s collection. The website includes world maps, time lines, thematic essays, and indexes and bibliographies of museum publications.

This is a listing of art and art history websites from the University of Michigan’s School of Art & Design. Categories include: art history departments and fine art schools in the US and abroad, research resources, resources for visual collections, image collections, online art, art museums, and textual/linguistic resources.

Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.

TOP

Local Resources

In May 2012, the Barnes Foundation will open their Philadelphia campus on the north corner of 20th and the Parkway. The website provides a preview of the new building along with an online database of the collection, and information on how to access the art library and archives.

Online videos presented by the Art History faculty at CCP. The clips are generally less than five minutes and subjects range from the pre-historic Woman of Willendorf to contemporary artist Claes Oldenburg.

The Albert M. Greenfield American Art Resource Online is an ongoing project to digitize PAFA’s permanent collection. Search or browse the collection of over 9793 objects and over a thousand images (and growing) from the museum’s collection.

In addition to the museum, the PMA has one of the oldest art reference libraries in the United States, archives, and in-house access to many electronic resources beyond Moore’s collection.

Located between the PMA and the new Barnes Foundation on the Parkway, the Rodin Museum is the largest collection of the artist’s work outside of Paris.

The Rosenbach Museum and Library houses a diverse collection of rare books, manuscripts, furniture, silver, paintings, prints, drawings, and sculpture and also supports current exhibitions. See the Collections and Research pages for more information.

Located in Chestnut Hill, Woodmere is dedicated to telling the story of Philadelphia’s art and artists.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Art History”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

%d bloggers like this: