Dark matter : art and politics in the age of enterprise culture / Gregory Sholette The invisible dragon : essays on beauty / Dave Hickey Women, art, and society / Whitney Chadwick Art and feminism / edited by Helena Reckitt
Surrealism, feminism, psychoanalysis / Natalya Lusty Art and activism in the age of globalization / Lieven De Cauter, Ruben De Roo & Karel Vanhaesebrouck  	A decade of negative thinking : essays on art, politics, and daily life / Mira Schor Insurgent muse : life and art at the Woman's Building / by Terry Wolverton

Curatorial Studies enables students to gain knowledge of both theoretical constructs and practical applications involved in conceptualizing, generating and creating exhibitions, collections and their documentation. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Curatorial Studies program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR CURATORIAL STUDIES MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Curatorial Studies-related journals include:

  • The Art Bulletin
  • Art Journal
  • Flash Art
  • FMR
  • Frieze
  • Leonardo
  • The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin
  • Museum International
  • National Gallery Technical Bulletin
  • Parkett
  • Women in the Arts

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Curatorial Studies, including location and date of holdings:

  • Art Institute of Chicago Museum Studies. FLP: (JSTOR): 1996-2007.
  • Curator. PMA: 1958-present.
  • International Journal of Museum Management and Curatorship. PMA: 1982-1989.
  • Museum Management and Curatorship. PMA: 1990-present.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Curatorial Studies-related materials are:

You can also search by the location of a museum/gallery (“Museums, United States”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection, the Oversize section and the Reference section for Curatorial Studies-related materials:

  • AM151: Museum/exhibition techniques
  • N408: Museum work as a profession
  • N510-3990: Art museums/galleries by place
  • N4395-4397: Exhibitions–technical aspects
  • N4402-5098: Exhibitions by place

TOP

Online Resources

Based in the UK, ACADI promotes the status of visual resources curators and aims to highlight the importance of image collections within education. The “Image Curation” page includes curation resources and information on copyright and metadata standards.

Curating.info is designed and updated by curator Michelle Kasprzak and her editorial staff. The site offers informed musings on current issues in the field, reviews and resources, information on jobs, and an extensive “relevant links” section.

ExhibitFiles is an online forum for exhibit designers and developers. Resources include case studies, reviews, and a member directory of professionals active in the field.

The Getty Research Institute provides access to digital collections, research guides, bibliographies, and free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA). Also see the Getty Conservation Institute for information on conservation, current projects, news, and teaching resources.

Independent Curators International (ICI) produces exhibitions, events, publications, and training opportunities for diverse audiences around the world. Click on the “Research” tab to read their quarterly online journal Dispatch.

On-Curating is an independent international web-journal that focuses on questions around curatorial practice and theory. It is supported by the Postgraduate Program in Curating, Institute for Cultural Studies in the Arts (ICS), Zurich University of the Arts.

Curatorial Ethics Links:

The AAM Standards and Best Practices for U.S. Museums are best practice and philosophies that help to guide museum operations.

Curcom is one of the AAM’s standing professional committees. The CurCom code of ethics is meant to provide guidance and inspiration to working curators who make crucial choices about issues related to acquisitions, research, preservation, interpretation, access, and conflicts of interest.

General Museum Studies Links:

Global Museum is an international museum site with news, jobs, podcasts, and exhibitions from around the world.

Museum-Ed is an online community for museum educators and provides opportunities to ask questions, exchange ideas, explore current issues, share resources, and to inspire new directions in museum education.

MuseumStuff.com is a web based guide to museum related information for both art and design and beyond. The site includes a database of museums from around the world, links to virtual exhibits and educational resources.

The Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies (SCEMS) assists the museum community in acquiring and strengthening its understandings and practices of museology. Their website links to Museum Studies bibliographies, journals, and webcasts.

TOP

Local Resources

Through a series of conversations with artists, curators, educators, scholars and arts administrators, these Curatorial Conversations, co-organized by The Galleries and Moore’s BFA in Curatorial Studies major, discuss the creative nexus between curating and a variety of other societal mandates such as education and activism.

The Philadelphia Exhibitions Initiative (PEI) supports the work of arts organizations and individual curators in the greater Philadelphia area by providing grants for art exhibitions, professional development programs, and access to publications and research.

The PMA has one of the oldest art reference libraries in the United States, archives, and in-house access to many electronic resources beyond Moore’s collection. Access to the library is free with your Moore Student ID.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Curatorial Studies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

%d bloggers like this: