9 heads : a guide to drawing fashion / Nancy Riegelman Dressed [videorecording] / directed, produced, and edited by David Swajeski The art of fashion draping / Connie Amaden-Crawford Antonio Lopez : fashion, art, sex & disco / Roger Padilha and Mauricio Padilha
Emerging Fashion Designers 3 / Sally Congdon-Martin A field guide to fabric design : design, print & sell your own fabric : traditional & digital techniques for quilting, home dec & apparel / Kimberly Kight Flats : technical drawing for fashion / Basia Szkutnicka Drape drape / Hisako Sato

The Fashion Design department blends the best art and design training with the practical demands of working in any number of fashion, apparel, and related fields. In addition, three Textile Design minors are offered for all majors that especially compliment the fashion program: Surface Design, Fabric Construction, and Material Studies. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Fashion Design and Textile programs.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR FASHION DESIGN MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Fashion Design and Textiles-related journals include:

  • American Fabrics and Fashions
  • Décidé: Magazin für Frauen, Kultur & Luxus
  • DNR: The Magazine
  • Dress
  • Elle
  • Fashion Practice
  • Fashion Theory
  • Fiberarts
  • Handwoven
  • Harper’s Bazaar
  • International Textiles
  • Men’s Fashions
  • Officiel de la Couture et de la Mode de Paris
  • Selvedge
  • Shuttle, Spindle & Dye-pot
  • So-en: Personal Fashion Magazine
  • Surface
  • Surface Design
  • Textile Fibre Forum
  • Textile View Magazine
  • Threads
  • View 2 Magazine
  • Vogue
  • Vogue Italia
  • Vogue Paris
  • W
  • WWD

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Fashion Design and Textiles, including location and date of holdings:

  • AFT: American Fabrics and Fashion. PMA: 1946-1986.
  • America’s Textiles Reporter/Bulletin. FLP: 1971-1982.
  • Bobbin. FLP: 1975-2002.
  • Centre International d’Etude des Textiles Ancien. PMA: 1955-present.
  • Claudia. FLP: 1961-present.
  • Dresstudy. PMA: 1982-present.
  • Dyes in History and Archaeology: DHA. PMA: 1982-present.
  • Fashion Accessories. FLP: 1941-1949.
  • Journal of Indian Textile History. PMA: 1955-1967.
  • Journal of the Textile Institute. FLP: 1926-1985.
  • Philadelphia Style. FLP: 2008-present.
  • Textile & Text. PMA: 1992-present.
  • Textile Research Journal. FLP: 1931-present.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. The subject headings that may be useful in a search for Fashion and Textile Design-related materials are listed below.

Fashion:

Textiles:

You can also search by the name of the fashion designer (“Chanel, Coco”) or type of fabric (“Khaki”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Fashion Design and Textiles-related materials:

  • GT500-2370: Costume. Dress. Fashion history
  • HD9850-9969: Textile industries, special products & clothing
  • HF5439 .A-Z: Selling by product, e.g., boots & shoes, hats, etc.
  • HF5686 .C44: Accounting—Clothing business
  • N8251 .T4: Textile fabrics, textile industry
  • NK4700-4890: Costume & its accessories
  • NK8800-9505.5: Textile arts & needlework
  • TP930-931: Textile printing, dyeing
  • TR679: Fashion photography
  • TS1300-1865: Textile industries
  • TT490-695: Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring
  • TT505: Fashion designers
  • TT699-854.5: Textile arts and crafts

TOP

Online Resources

View digitized images from the American Textile History Museum’s collection of over 15,000 artifacts, which includes textiles, sample books, costumes, spinning wheels, tools, machinery, and decorative arts. The Museum’s Osborne Library also houses a collection of over 90,000 items.

Apparel Search is an online guide and directory for the apparel and textile industry. The site is a self-described “business to business database that covers all aspects of the clothing industry.” This includes links to resources from professional organizations, designers, manufacturers and human rights/safety issues.

The Digital Librarian website is maintained by librarian Margaret Vail Anderson and organizes links to relevant and reliable information on the Internet. The Fashion page includes a long list of resources organized alphabetically by subject. Some fashion topics include: auction houses, designers, libraries, magazines, professional organizations, and vintage resources.

The FIDM Museum’s online image collections include: Womenswear, Menswear, Childrenswear, Fragrance, Textiles, Jewelry, Ephemera, and Accessories. You can also browse current and past exhibitions, and the Blog offers vignettes on items in the collection.

The ipl2 is a public service organization that is supported by a consortium of Library and Information Colleges and Universities. The Fashion section of the Newspapers and Magazines collection provides a list of trade and popular magazines available online.

The Los Angeles County Museum of Art’s Costume and Textiles collection contains a digitized portion the Museum’s holdings. View patterns from the collection, or browse fabric items by decade.

The online version of the Met’s Costume Institute and the Brooklyn Museum’s Costume Collection offer images and information on items from the permanent collection. You can search or browse by designer, technique/material, geographic location, and time period/era. For more information on textiles see the Met’s Antonio Ratti Textile Center.

The NYPL’s Dress and Fashion online collection includes 19th to the early 20th-century historical surveys, manufacturers’ booklets, and sample swatch catalogs. You can also search the online image collection for specific fashion-related subject headings.

The Victoria and Albert Museum’s online Fashion collection is organized by time period, fashion illustration/drawing, and also links to past exhibitions, images, and events. View the Textiles page for related information on textiles, techniques, and the conservation.

Vogue’s website provides access to collections, fashion news and features, culture, and videos.

WWD’s resources page includes links to search all images, a fashion glossary, and fashion week archives.

TOP

Local Resources

Chemical Heritage Foundation is home to many significant collections relevant to the history of chemistry.  These Artifacts contain a Chemistry and Fashion collection.

The Historic Costume collection is a database of images and archival data of both Drexel’s collection and items loaned to the project. Some of the objects can be viewed in-person by appointment.

The Fabric Workshop and Museum (FWM) exists to enable the finest artists today to work with new materials and new media, to expand the frontiers of contemporary artistic practice, and to educate the public about the significance of contemporary art.

PFW has become one of the most anticipated and influential events to take place and has help to shape the local and surrounding areas fashion awareness, as well as bring awareness to major issues that are prevalent in our general society.

Established in 1893, the Museum’s Department of Costume and Textiles has one of oldest and largest collections of its kind in the nation, numbering more than 30,000 pieces. The textiles collection is strong in woven and printed fabrics as well as embroidery and lace, and recent acquisitions include important groups of Asian material

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Fashion Design & Textiles”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

%d bloggers like this: