A touch of code : interactive installations and experiences / edited by Robert Klanten, Sven Ehmann, Verena Hanschke ; preface by Joachim Sauter ; introduction and text by Lukas Feireiss Andy Warhol / edited by Annette Michelson Digital art revolution : creating fine art with Photoshop / Scott Ligon Remarks on Color
Land and Environmental Art The Studio Nature Abstraction

The Fine Arts: Emphasis in 2D is defined by a strong commitment to the historical and contemporary traditions of drawing, painting, and printmaking. Students in this major are encouraged to experience working in all types of media. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Fine Arts program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR FINE ARTS 2D MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Fine Arts 2D-related titles are:

  • Art in America
  • Artist’s Proof
  • Art Journal
  • ARTnews
  • Art on Paper
  • Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Contemporary Impressions
  • Flash Art
  • Graphic Design, USA
  • Graphis
  • Master Drawings
  • Modern Painters
  • Old Master Drawings: A Quarterly Magazine for Students and Collectors
  • Printmaking Today
  • Women’s Art Journal

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Fine Arts 2D, including location and date of holdings:

  • Artist’s Proof. FLP: 1961-1971.
  • Drawing. PMA:  1957-1999.
  • Imprint. PMA: 1976-1997.
  • On Paper. FLP: 1996-1998.
  • Painting in the United States. FLP: 1943-1949.
  • Watercolor, USA. PMA: 1962-present.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Fine Arts 2D-related materials are:

You can also search by the genre (“Art, Abstract”) or the name of the artist (“Neel, Alice”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Fine Arts 2D-related materials:

  • N: Visual arts
  • N4390-5098: Exhibitions
  • N5300-6498: History of art
  • N6501-7414: Visual arts by special artists
  • NC: Drawing, design, illustration
  • NC730-758: Technique of drawing
  • ND: Painting
  • ND201-1114: Painting by special artists
  • ND1470-1625: Technique & materials
  • ND1700-2495: Watercolor painting
  • ND2550-2733: Mural painting
  • NE: Print media
  • NE1-978: Printmaking & engraving
  • NE1400-1879: Metal engraving
  • NE1940-2232.5: Etching & aquatint
  • NE2236-2240.6: Serigraphy
  • NE2250-2570: Lithography
  • NX: Arts in general

TOP

Online Resources

Art21 programming is supported by PBS and features short-format documentary films on contemporary artists along with artists’ links and the Art21 Blog with current news and exhibition listings.

ARTINFO is published by Louise Blouin Media and provides access to contemporary art news and events. The Gallery Guide is a particularly useful tool for locating galleries worldwide.

The-Artists.org indexes websites for major modern & contemporary visual artists (since 1900). The News portion of the website provides calls for artists, exhibitions and events, and book reviews.

ArtLex provides definitions for more than 3,600 terms used visual arts and also includes images, pronunciation guides, and cross-references.

ArtNet hosts several resources including a price database and auctions, artists directory, Market Reports, and the online Galleries. For current industry news see ArtNet Magazine.

The Clara database is managed by the National Museum for Women in the Arts and contains authoritative information on 18,000 female visual artists of all time periods and nationalities.

This is a two-part guide exploring contemporary approaches to drawing and painting, with experimental tutorials and interviews with leading international artists about how they work, including Jeff Koons, Louise Bourgeois, and Chris Ofili.

An interactive website demonstrating the different types of prints, how they are made, examples of the types of prints, a glossary of print terms, and recommended reading on the subject.

SAGA is a service organization with a rich history dating back to 1915. Their website provides information, sponsored links to other resources, and access to the organization’s own magazine.

The Tate Glossary compliments the collection pages. It provides definitions and examples for almost 300 terms relating to art movements, techniques, and criticism.

These links provide access to the subject headings for the V&A Drawings, Paintings and Prints collections. Each subject heading provides information on artists and techniques.

The World Artist Directory has been on the web since 1994 and is a trusted tool for connecting the art community. Search by artist’s name or browse by region/technique.

TOP

Local Resources

The CFEVA provides support for emerging artists through their Career Development Program and the Regional Community Arts Program. CFEVA also presents the annual Philadelphia Open Studio Tours (POST).

The Plastic Club has been supporting visual arts in Philadelphia since 1897. They have a busy gallery schedule, ongoing workshops, and an online “members showcase” that links to area artists and their work.

Operating since 1860, the PSC is one of the oldest clubs for visual artists in America. The PSC exhibits juried, invitational, and members shows, and also provides ongoing studio workshops.

Philagrafika is a regional consortium of artists and organizations that celebrate printmaking in contemporary art practice. They sponsor several programs including the international, citywide, triennial in Philadelphia.

The Print Center is a non-profit organization and exhibition space dedicated to printmaking and photography. The gallery is free to the public.

The Rosenbach’s fine art collection includes European and American drawings, paintings, and prints from the Renaissance to the present.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Fine Arts 2D”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

%d bloggers like this: