How to be a graphic designer, without losing your soul Above the Fold Brand Thinking  	Graphic design process : from problem to solution : 20 case studies

The Graphic Design program at Moore College of Art and Design teaches students to become informed, thoughtful, and sophisticated designers who are able to grow with an ever-changing and dynamic profession. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Graphic Design program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR GRAPHIC DESIGN MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Graphic Design-related titles include:

  • Annual of Advertising and Editorial Art and Design
  • Artist’s Proof: a Collector’s Edition of the First Eight Issues of the Distinguished Journal of Prints and Printmaking
  • Communication Arts
  • Eye: The Int’l Review of Graphic Design
  • Graphic Design, USA
  • Graphis
  • How
  • ID: Magazine of International Design
  • Letterhead & Logo Design: Creating the Corporate Image
  • Lurzer’s International Archive
  • Novum Gebrauchsgraphik
  • Package Design USA: Showcase of Packaging Innovations
  • Print: America’s Graphic Design Magazine
  • Step Inside Design
  • Typography: The Annual of the Type Directors Club.

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own a variety of graphic design  journals that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:

  • Adlib. PMA: 1956-1968.
  • AIGA Journal of Graphic Design. FLP: 1982-present.
  • The Aldine. FLP: 1871-1879.
  • Artist’s and Graphic Designer’s Market. FLP: 1995-present.
  • Creation:  International Graphic Design, Art & Illustration. PMA: 1989-1998.
  • Quiver. PMA: 1977-present.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Graphic Design-related materials are:

You can also search by the name of the artist/designer (“Scher, Paula”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection, the Oversize section and the Reference section for Graphic Design-related materials:

  • HF5801-6182: Advertising
  • NC997-1003: Commercial art
  • NC1002 .B87: Business cards
  • NC1002 .L3: Labels
  • NC1002 .L47: Letterheads
  • NC1002 .P33: Packaging
  • NC1800–1850: Posters
  • NC1860-1880: Greeting cards, invitations
  • NC1882: Book jackets, phonorecord jackets, album covers
  • ND2889–3416: Illumination of manuscripts, books
  • NE: Print media
  • T221–325: History of patents, trademarks
  • TS195: Packaging
  • Z116-242: History of books & bookmaking
  • Z243-249: Practical printing
  • Z250-265: Type & typefounding

TOP

Online Resources

The American Institute of Graphic Arts is a professional organization, and the place to go for community, inspiration and thought leadership. Beyond supporting members, AIGA supports the profession by providing free industry-leading tools and resources.

Dribbble is a community of web designers, graphic designers, illustrators, icon artists, typographers, logo designers, and other creative types who share their work, process, and current projects. Dribbble is a place to show and tell, promote, discover, and explore design.

This how-to magazine provides information on everything Adobe.

The Department of Advertising and Graphic Design is The Museum of Modern Art’s in-house design studio.

Exhibitions, acquisitions, and other highlights from the Graphic Arts Collection at Princeton University Library.

TOP

Local Resources

AIGA Philadelphia’s purpose is to provide the highest standards within the profession and the business community and to stimulate interest and understanding of graphic design and visual communication through lectures, exhibitions, periodicals and other activities.

Since 2005, DesignPhiladelphia has developed a nationally unique, open participation festival program that offers this region’s residents, as well as out-of-town visitors, a view into Philadelphia’s creative industries at work. Lectures, symposia, and round table discussions create opportunities for people to connect across design categories. Through open studios, we make networking among students and professionals possible. Street happenings, exhibitions, and public installations expand general awareness of the power design has in our everyday lives. And, DesignPhildelphia offers you the chance to meet more than 450 national and international designers at the heart of this region’s creative economy, and to see their work in one condensed period of time.

The Library’s research guide provides links to useful online resources for graphic design students

Polite Design Incorporated, located in center-city Philadelphia, is owned and operated by partners, Sonali Nandé-Polite and Kerry Polite. Polite Design has designed and implemented highly successful projects across multiple medias for clients ranging from small and midsize companies to global corporations spanning a diverse range of industries.  This webpage provides links and resources about Graphic Design.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Graphic Design”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




Connelly Library on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

New in the Library

The architecture of the Barnes Foundation : gallery in a garden, garden in a gallery / Tod Williams, Billie Tsien ; edited by Octavia Giovannini-Torelli ; principal photography by Michael Moran.
Abstraction / edited by Maria Lind.
Drape drape 3 / Hisako Sato.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

%d bloggers like this: