Drawing hands and feet Digital Painting Techniques vol 4 Spectrum 20 Illustration a visual history

The Illustration department at Moore is committed to the idea that a competent illustrator is first and foremost a knowledgeable artist. The department prepares students for a departure into the challenging world of illustrative art and design. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Illustration program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR ILLUSTRATION MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Illustration-related titles are:

  • 3 X 3
  • Art on Paper
  • Bomb
  • How
  • Illustration
  • Parkett
  • Print

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own a variety of illustration journals that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:

  • Creation: International Graphic Design, Art & Illustration. PMA: 1989-1994.
  • Drawing. PMA: 1957-1999.
  • On Paper: The Journal of Prints, Drawings and Photography. FLP: 1996-1998.
  • Master Drawings. FLP: 1963-2009.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, OR CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Illustration-related materials are:

You can also search by the name of the artist/designer (“Smith, Jessie Willcox”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection, the Oversize section and the Reference section for Illustration-related materials:

  • HF5801-6182: Advertising
  • N8020-8038: Bible illustrations
  • NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • NC 961.6: Illustrators—Biography
  • NC965: Illustration of children’s books
  • NC966: Textbook illustration
  • NC975-995.8: Special illustrators
  • NC996-1284: Advertising art; Visual communication
  • PN147.5: Authorship of children’s literature
  • PN3377: Authorship, Juvenile
  • PZ1-90: Juvenile books

TOP

Online Resources

Maintained by illustrators in the field, Escape from Illustration Island is a hub for illustration resources online including podcasts, articles, a comprehensive list of professional organizations, tutorials, and more. Their sister site, Illustration Age, offers current news and editorials.

Folioplanet is a directory of illustrator links, illustration portfolios and stock illustration images.

The NCS website keeps readers up-to-date on relevant news pertaining to cartoon illustration and cartoonists (including Signe Wilkinson’s Visionary Woman Award at Moore College in the October Archives!). A list of NCS cartoonists’ blogs are included, as well as links to outside resources.

The Society of Illustrators is a nonprofit educational organization promoting illustration. The website offers news, video archives of past lectures, and information on their Museum of American Illustration in New York.

Theispot.com presents artist news, online portfolio space and stock collections to illustrators and buyers throughout the world. The site is a good place to browse current work in the field.

The New York Public Library’s Digital Library includes several collections with botanical and zoological illustration as well as ephemera, posters, and a special collection of scrapbooks from “America’s First Illustrator: Alexander Anderson.”

The Drawings subject heading provides access to the Museum’s digitized collection of illustrations from many centuries, as well as articles on drawing and watercolors, illustration techniques, and relevant artists.

TOP

Local Resources

American illustration is a major component of the Brandywine Museum’s collection. The collection holds works from Edwin Austin Abbey, Winslow Homer, Howard Chandler Christy, Charles Dana Gibson, Rose O’Neill, Maxfield Parrish, Rockwell Kent, Al Hirschfeld, Charles Addams, Edward Gorey and Charles Schulz, among others.

The Mütter Museum is a wonderful resource for those interested in anatomical illustration.  The Museum’s Library, open by appointment, contains a comprehensive collection of 19th and early 20th-century medical journals, as well as a unique holding of books produced before 1500.

Located in Wilmington, the Delaware Art Museum’s collection features American illustrator Howard Pyle, a Wilmington-native. The Museum also displays a number of works by Pyle’s students, including N. C. Wyeth, Maxfield Parrish, Frank E. Schoonover, and other famous illustrators.

Prints, drawings, and photographs comprise the largest group of objects in the Museum’s collections, including more than 150,000 works of art on paper dating from the fifteenth century to the present.

The Plastic Club has been supporting visual arts in Philadelphia since 1897. They have a busy gallery schedule, ongoing workshops, and an online “members showcase” that links to area artists and their work.

The Rosenbach is proud to be the major repository for the illustrations and manuscripts of Maurice Sendak (born 1928), creator of some of the world’s best-loved children’s books of his time. The collection includes original drawings, preliminary sketches, manuscript materials, photographs, proofs, and rare prints.

Operating since 1860, the PSC is one of the oldest clubs for visual artists in America. The PSC exhibits juried, invitational, and members shows, and also provides ongoing studio workshops.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Illustration”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

%d bloggers like this: