The Interior Design department educates students to become creative, responsible interior designers. Studio experiences emphasize imaginative and critical thinking, and the curriculum includes a broad intellectual foundation and the development of professional skills needed to launch successful careers in interior design. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Interior Design program.
TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR INTERIOR DESIGN MATERIALS
To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!
The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.
All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.
Some Interior Design-related titles are:
- Architectural Digest
- The Architectural Forum
- Architectural Record
- The Architectural Review
- Architecture: AIA Journal
- Furniture Forum
- House and Garden
- Interior Design
- Metropolitan Home
- Progressive Architecture
- The Selective Eye
- Technology and Conservation
The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own many architecture journals that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:
- Academy Architecture and Architectural Review. FLP: 1896-1929.
- APT Bulletin (electronic). PMA: 1986-present.
- Arts and Architecture. FLP: 1932-1967.
- Design Arts. FLP: 1981-1995.
- Forum Journal: The Journal of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. PMA: 1991-present.
- Handbook of the Allied Interior Decorative Trade. PMA: 1928-present.
- The Interior Decorators’ Handbook. PMA: 1969-1984.
- Interior Design and Decoration. FLP: 1966-present.
- International Interior Design. FLP: 1991-present.
- Journal of the American Society of Architectural Historians. PMA: 1941-1944.
- Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians. FLP: 1994-present; PMA: 1945-present.
- Newsletter of the Society of Architectural Historians. FLP: 1957-present.
- Record Interiors. FLP: 1981-present.
- The Upholsterer and Interior Decorator. PMA: 1916-1935.
You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Interior Design & Architecture-related materials are:
You can also search by the name of the architect (“Wright, Frank Lloyd”), the artist/designer (“De Wolfe, Elsie”), or interior decoration firm (“Knoll International”).
Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?
If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Interior Design & Architecture-related materials:
- NA1-9428: Architecture
- NA31: Dictionaries, Encyclopedia, Glossaries
- NA210-349: Ancient and Classical
- NA350-489: Medieval
- NA380s: Islamic
- NA390-419: Romanesque
- NA440-489: Gothic
- NA500-599: Modern
- NA510-589: Renaissance
- NA590-599: Baroque, Rococo
- NA600-609: Neoclassicism
- NA645-679: 19th Century
- NA680-699: 20th Century
- NA2500-2599: Architectural Theory, Comprehensive Works, Outlines
- NA2541-2542: Climate and Architecture
- NA2695-2794: Architectural Drawing & Design
- NA2760-2775: Composition, Proportions, Plans, Elevations
- NA2810-4050: Architectural Details, Motives, Decoration
- NA4100-4145: Buildings, by Material, e.g., Wood, masonry
- NA4170-8480: Buildings, by Use, e.g., Public Buildings
- NA4590-5621: Churches. Religious Architecture
- NA6115-6199: Mausoleums, Cemeteries, Monuments
- NA6300-6307: Airports
- NA6400-6589: Industrial Architecture
- NA6590-6610: Educational Buildings
- NA6700: Museums, Exhibition Buildings
- NA6700-7010: Buildings, by Form, e.g., Basilicas
- NA7100-7880: Domestic Architecture, Houses, Dwellings
- NA7800-7850: Hotels, Inns, Restaurants
- NA7851-7859: Restaurants, Clubs, Bars
- NA8200-8260: Farm Architecture
- NA8300-8480: Minor Buildings, Gates, Fences, etc.
- NA9000-9199: Urban Design
- NK1700-2195: Interior decoration
- NK2115.5: Specialties
- NK2115.5 .F55: Floor coverings
- NK2115.5 .V53: Victoriana
- NK2195.A-Z: Special Types of Buildings
- NK2195.R4: Restaurants
- NK2200-2750: Furniture
- NK2775-2898: Rugs, carpets
- NK3175-3296.3: Wallpapers
- TA166: Human Engineering
- TA401-492: Materials of Engineering and Construction
- TH: Building construction
- American Architects and Buildings
Formerly Philadelphia Architects and Buildings, this website is supported by the Athenaeum of Philadelphia and is a growing national database of buildings and architects, both historic and modern. Search by building, architect, or location. Contact the library for username/password information.
- American Society of Interior Designers: Knowledge Center
The ASID’s Knowledge Center offers codes and standards, information on accessibility, access, sustainability, and research resources.
ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations. The Digital Library provides access to online images and research.
BuildingGreen.com provides information on policy, process, materials, and indoor environmental quality. The High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) maps a range of case studies, from single family housing to corporate interiors.
- Cities and Buildings Database
Developed by the University of Washington Libraries, the Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and space. Search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, or date of construction.
- Digital Librarian: Architecture | Design
The Digital Librarian website is maintained by librarian Margaret Vail Anderson and organizes links to relevant and reliable information on the Internet. The Architecture and Design pages include a long list of resources organized alphabetically by subject.
- The Geffrye Museum of the Home: Virtual Tour
The Geffrye Museum shows the changing style of the English domestic interior in a series of period rooms from 1600 to the present day. This links to the virtual tour of the museum’s rooms and gardens.
- Interior DesignInterior Design is a trade magazine for the industry. The website is constantly updated with news and product reviews, and the Digital Library provides industry catalogs for view online.
- Interiors Sources
Interiors Sources is a trade magazine primarily focused on commercial interior design. The website offers news, resources, and an online version of the magazine, including back issues from 2003.
- International Interior Design Association: Knowledge Center
The IIDA’s Knowledge Center offers citations and full-text articles, case-studies, and conference presentations on current research in the field. Search or browse the material by topic, client type, or resource type.
- Library of Congress: American Memory: Historic American Buildings Survey
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections document architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States. The online collection includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, and written history pages.
- Library of Congress: American Memory: Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America
The collection is comprised of over 29,000 images taken by Samuel Gottscho and William Schleisner from 1935-1955. The subjects are primarily architectural, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Many of the photographs were commissioned by architects, designers, owners and architectural publications, and document important achievements in American 20th-century architecture and interior design.
- Le Petit Palais: The Building, History, and Interior Decoration
The Petit Palais was built for the 1900 Universal Exhibition, like its neighbor the Grand Palais, on Avenue Winston Churchill. It became a museum in 1902.
- American Institute of Architects Philadelphia
AIA Philadelphia, a Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, offers membership and architecture events; information about Philadelphia architects and and excellent bookstore.
- Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania
The Architectural Archives preserves the works of more than 400 designers from the 18th century to the present. The research collections in the Archives are available to faculty, students, and scholars for independent study as well as to support teaching in the University of Pennsylvania and other institutions.
- Architectural & Interior Design Photography
Paul S. Bartholomew is a Philadelphia area photographer who specializes in architectural, interior design, and hospitality photography.
- The Athenaeum of Philadelphia
The Athenaeum of Philadelphia is an independent member-supported library and museum founded in 1814. It provides the Philadelphia region with a resource of first resort on matters of architecture and interior design history, particularly for the period 1800 to 1945.
The Philadelphia City Archive is one of the country’s largest municipal archives, with 2 million photographs dating from the late 1800′s.
- Temple University: Digital Diamond
An excellent source for photographs of city blocks and buildings.
Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! email@example.com or 215-965-4054.