Cashing in on culture : betraying the trust at the Rose Art Museum / Francine Koslow Miller How to not write bad A Short Guide to Writing About Art How to Write A Lot

Moore’s Liberal Arts program spans the traditions of art in history, to the economics and politics of contemporary art and design, to literature and creative writing, and beyond. Courses in this discipline explore ideas and stimulate students to find new sources of inspiration that enrich both their lives and work. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the liberal arts program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR LIBERAL ARTS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Liberal Arts-related titles are:

  • The Believer
  • Bomb
  • The Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Creative Business
  • Expedition
  • Harper’s Magazine
  • Leonardo
  • The Nation
  • The New Republic
  • The New Yorker
  • Smithsonian
  • Women’s Art Journal
  • Women’s Studies Quarterly

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Liberal Arts, including location and date of holdings (when available):

  • American Literature. FLP: 1929-present.
  • American Scholar. FLP: 1932-present.
  • Archaeology. FLP 1978-present.
  • Atlantic Monthly. FLP: 1999-present.
  • Intellectual History Review. PMA:  2007-present.
  • October. PMA: 1983-present.
  • Renaissance Quarterly. FLP: 1967-present.
  • Res: Anthropology and Aesthetics. PMA: 1995-present.
  • Speculum: A journal of Medieval Studies. FLP 1926-present.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, CALL NUMBER, OR ISBN. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Liberal Arts-related materials are:

You can also search by the name of an artist/author (“Dante Gabriel Rossetti”), movement (“Pre-Raphaelites”) or era (“Victorian”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Liberal Arts-related materials:

  • BH1-301: Aesthetics
  • BL1-2790: Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
  • D111-203 Medieval history
  • D204-475: Modern history
  • E75-99: Native American Culture
  • E151-889: United States History
  • GN1-890: Anthropology
  • GR1-950: Folklore
  • HQ1101-2030.7: Women. Feminism
  • PE1001-1693 Modern English Language/Writing
  • PN: English Literature
  • PS: American Literature
  • PZ1-90: Fiction and juvenile belles lettres
  • Z551-659: Copyright. Freedom of the press. Censorship

TOP

Online Resources

Need help writing? Visit Moore College’s Writer’s Studio.

Research and Citation Resources:

Museums:

TOP

Local Resources

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Liberal Arts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




Connelly Library on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

New in the Library

The architecture of the Barnes Foundation : gallery in a garden, garden in a gallery / Tod Williams, Billie Tsien ; edited by Octavia Giovannini-Torelli ; principal photography by Michael Moran.
Abstraction / edited by Maria Lind.
Drape drape 3 / Hisako Sato.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

%d bloggers like this: