Cindy Sherman / Eva Respini Zoe Strauss: 10 years Light Years: Conceptual Art and the Photograph Civil Contract of Photography

The Photography & Digital Arts major is a distinctive course of study designed to foster artists who work across multiple disciplines, ranging from traditional photography to the latest digital technology. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Photography and Digital Arts program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR PHOTOGRAPHY & DIGITAL ARTS MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.  Some Photography & Digital Arts-related titles are:

  • Afterimage
  • Aperture
  • American Photo
  • Blindspot
  • Communication Arts
  • Contact Sheet
  • Digital Video
  • Prefix Photo

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own many historical photography journals that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:

  • The American Annual of Photography. FLP: 1887-1953.
  • The Black Photographers Annual. PMA: 1972-1974.
  • The British Journal of Photography. FLP: 1854-2001; 2003; 2006.
  • Camera Work. PMA: 1903 to 1917.
  • The Philadelphia Photo Review. PMA: 1976-1983.
  • Photographie. PMA: 1930-1947.
  • Popular Photography. FLP: 1937-present.
  • The Practical Photographer. FLP: 1904-1905.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Photography & Digital Arts-related materials are:

You can also search the name of the artist (”Jordan, Chris”).

Copy the entire call number for titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection, the Oversize section and the Reference section for Photography & Digital Arts-related materials:

  • TR: Photography
  • TR144-145: General photography
  • TR161: Study and teaching
  • TR250-269: Cameras
  • TR350-445: Photographic processes
  • TR453-500: Photographic processing
  • TR510-530: Color photography
  • TR575: Portrait photography
  • TR590-620: Lighting
  • TR640: Artistic photography
  • TR647 .A-Z: Works of individual photographers
  • TR647-835: Applied photography
  • TR650-654: Collections of photographs
  • TR656: Abstract photography
  • TR679: Fashion photography
  • TR845-899.5: Cinematography

TOP

Online Resources

This virtual museum’s Research Center includes information on photographic processes and preserving and protecting photographs, as well as resources on the history of photography.

The International Center for Photography’s eMuseum includes 20,500 digitized photographs from the Center’s permanent collection.  The Library’s webpage, retrieved through the Research Center, provides access to a variety of links useful for practicing artists.

This online catalog includes more than 1.2 million digitized images from the Library of Congress’ Prints and Photographs Division.

The photography subject heading provides access to the Museum’s digitized collection of photographs, as well as articles on photographers, techniques, and the history of photography.

TOP

Local Resources

Spanning the graphic arts from 1493 to the present time, the Free Library’s Fine Art Prints and Photographs collection includes thousands of images. Initially representing only Philadelphia artists, the collection has been extended to include early masters as well as renowned modern printmakers and photographers. You can view prints by such artists as Dürer, Rembrandt, Warhol and Dali. Some of the photographers include Ansel Adams, Bernice Abbott, Ray Metzker, Eadweard Muybridge and Aaron Siskind.

The Philadelphia Photo Arts Center is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization devoted to the study, practice, and appreciation of photography in the Philadelphia region. The organization fulfills this mission by offering educational programs, photographic exhibitions, lectures by practicing artists, and affordable access to high-end digital equipment for the creation of photographs.

Project Basho is a photography resource center located on Germantown Avenue in Old Kensington, an artist-concentrated and culturally vibrant section of Philadelphia. It is a small yet dedicated organization of photographers, run by photographers, for photographers.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Photography & Digital Arts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

%d bloggers like this: