Moore’s Art Education program, one of the oldest in the nation, prepares candidates to teach grades K-12 by ensuring a solid base in studio courses, art history, liberal arts and art education courses. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Art Education program.
TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR ART EDUCATION MATERIALS
To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!
The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.
All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.
Some Art Education-related titles are:
- American Artist
- Art Education
- Art Journal
- Arts and Activities
- Arts Education Policy Review
- Education Week
- NAEA News
- Scholastic Art
- School Arts
- Studies in Art Education
- Teaching Exceptional Children
The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) subscribe to many art journals and periodical databases that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals for Art Education, including location and date of holdings:
- Art Education. PMA: 1948-present.
- Studies in Art Education. PMA: 1959-present.
- Yearbook (Eastern Arts Association). PMA: 1944-1954.
- Art Education Bulletin/Eastern Arts Association. FLP: 1944-1962.
- Art Education Today. FLP: 1935-1951/52.
- NAEA News. FLP: 2003-2006.
You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, CALL NUMBER, OR ISBN. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Art education-related materials are:
You can also search by the name of the educator (“Montessori, Maria”).
Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?
If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Art Education-related materials:
- LA: History of education
- LB: Theory & practice of education
- LB1025-1050.7: Teaching (principles & practice)
- LB1555-1602: Elementary education
- LB1603-1696.5: Secondary education
- LB1705-2286: Education of teachers
- LB2300-2430: Higher education
- LB2801-3095: School administration
- LC: Special aspects of education
- LC65-245: Social aspects of education
- LC1001-1099.5: Types of education
- LC1390-5160.3: Education of special classes of persons
- LC5201-666-.4: Adult education
- LT: Textbooks
- N81-380: Visual arts, study & teaching
- N7477: Works on art appreciation
- NC390-635: Drawing, study & teaching
- NX280-396.5: Arts in general, study & teaching
- P91.3-91.5: Visual communication
- The Purdue OWL: APA Style
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a comprehensive resource on how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. Explore the General Writing and Research and Citation pages for more online writing help.
ArtsEdSearch is a growing online clearinghouse that collects and summarizes high quality arts education research studies and analyzes their implications for educational policy and practice. ArtsEdSearch focuses on research examining how education in the arts affects students’ cognitive, personal, social and civic development, and how the integration of the arts into the school curriculum affects student learning and educators’ instructional practice.
- Arts Education Network
The Arts Education Network provides services for advocacy, research, partnerships, and professional development and is part of the Americans for the Arts organization. Some material is for members only, but their arts blog and research sections provide access to current arts education issues and policies.
- ARTSEDGE: The Kennedy Center’s Arts Education Network
This is the Kennedy Center’s free digital resource for teaching and learning in, through, and about the arts. The website includes a database of free arts-based lesson plans and projects for the classroom, articles, top-sheets, and multimedia series for the teachers.
- Getty Museum’s Education Resources
The resources for K-12 Teachers and Students include lesson plans, online games and videos for students, and a link to Open Studio, a set of lesson ideas authored by contemporary artists.
- National Art Education Association
The National Art Education Association links to approximately 125 electronic journals, articles on issues in aesthetics, arts education, art theory, and visual arts, statistics, and assorted databases.
- National Gallery of Art: Teachers
The National Gallery of Art provides an online space for teachers and students to connect art and curriculum. Through this website, one can search for lessons or resources by curriculum, topic or artist. It also offers additional resources such as activities, games, and interactive lessons.
- PBS Teachers: Art Beat at School
Art Beat at School is an online collection of streaming video clips from OPB’s Oregon Art Beat television series, as well as 100 lesson plans with related resources designed for K-12 teachers to use in the classroom.
- Smithsonian: Educators
The Smithsonian’s Educators webpage is a gateway to education links throughout the museum’s many departments, including (but not limited to): the Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies, African Art, American Art, American History, Natural History, the Air and Space Museum, the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, and the National Zoo.
- Mural Arts Program: Art Education
The City of Philadelphia Mural Arts Program is the largest public art program in the United States. Look here for information on art education and youth development, how to enroll in their programs and workshops, and the muraLAB initiative, an experimental creativity hub for exploring muralism in the 21st century.
- Pennsylvania Council on the Arts: Arts in Education Program
Arts in Education fosters participation in the creative process by developing and supporting quality arts education programs in Pennsylvania schools and communities. This program places artists in educational settings for in-depth residencies that engage students and underscore the importance of the arts in education.
- Philadelphia Arts in Education Partnership
To make art an essential part of every child’s education, PAEP provides resources and support to artists, teachers, schools, cultural and community organizations. PAEP offers professional development to teachers, artists, and arts organization managers.
- Philadelphia Education Fund: ArtsRising
ArtsRising is a community-wide effort to improve and expand equitable access to high quality arts education opportunities for children in the Greater Philadelphia Region.
- Philadelphia Museum of Art: Wachovia Center
The Wachovia Education Resource Center, located in the Museum’s Perelman Building, offers teachers an unequaled collection of materials, technology, and services to enhance teaching through connections between various curricular areas and the visual arts—all at no cost.
Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! firstname.lastname@example.org or 215-965-4054.