Ceramics, metal, jewelry, and sculpture emphasize the multidisciplinary possibilities of the Fine Arts: Emphasis in 3D major. Students in this major are encouraged to experience working in all types of media. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Fine Arts program.
TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR FINE ARTS 3D MATERIALS
To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!
The Library subscribes to over 130 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.
All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.
Some Fine Arts 3D-related titles are:
- American Ceramics
- American Craft
- Ceramics: Art and Perception
- Ceramics Monthly
- Décidé: Magazin für Frauen, Kultur & Luxus
- Design Solutions
- Gold + Silber: Uhren + Schmuck
- Goldschmiede Zeitung=European Jeweler: Internationales Journal für Schmuck und Uhren
- Journal of Modern Craft
- Schmuck Magazin
- Studio Potter
The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own a variety of fine arts journals that may be useful for your research. Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:
- American Jewelry Today. PMA: 1963-present.
- Ceramic Industry. FLP: 1923-present.
- Jewelry Artist. FLP: 2007-present.
- Journal of Ceramic History. PMA: 1968-1982.
- Sculpture Journal. PMA: 1997-present.
- Sculpture Review. FLP: 1983-present.
You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, or CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Fine Arts 3D-related materials are:
You can also search by the name of the artist (“Bourgeois, Louise”).
Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?
If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection and the Oversize Collection for Fine Arts 3D-related materials:
- NB: Sculpture
- NK: Decorative arts
- NK3700-4695: Ceramics
- NK4994-5024: Enamel
- NK5100-5440: Glass, stained glass
- NK5500-6060: Glyptic arts
- NK6400-8459: Metalwork
- NK7500-7695: Jewelry
- NK8491: Mosaic ornaments & jewelry
- NK8595: Plastic materials
- NK8700-8713: Stonework, marble work
- NK8730: Teapots
- NK9600-9955: Woodwork, wood carving
- TP785-869: Clay industries, ceramics, glass
- TP1080-1185: Plastics
- TS200-770: Metalworking
- TS780-788: Stonework
- TS800-937: Wood technology
- TT: Handicrafts
- TT925: Soft sculpture
- Cass Sculpture Foundation
The Cass Sculpture Foundation is a charitable organization that funds new projects by both emerging and established sculptors. The website’s sculpture and artists pages include images of current work and biographies of over 200 artists.
- Ceramic Arts Daily
Ceramic Arts Daily is an online community of ceramic artists and potters hosted by the Ceramic Publications Company, a subsidiary of The American Ceramic Society. The website provides video, techniques, glaze recipes, and an archive of articles.
- Ceramics Today
Ceramics Today is a comprehensive ceramics website that highlights articles relevant to field and features links to artists’ websites.
- Fine Wood Working
Fine Wood Working is the website for the trade magazine of the same name. The site provides articles, videos, and interactive features on fine wood working techniques and materials.
- The Getty: Sculpture
Browse the Getty’s sculpture collection online. Also see their Youtube channel for instructional videos on everything from glass blowing techniques to sculptural installations.
- International Sculpture Center Resource Directory
The ISC Resource Directory indexes sculpture services and supplies, schools and programs, museums, galleries, sculpture parks and gardens, and sculptor groups. You can search or browse using the “list” option.
- MoMA: Painting and Sculpture
Explore the MoMA’s online collections. For a more precise search, enter a keyword, artist, or title.
- National Gallery of Art: Sculpture
- National Sculpture Society
The NSS’s website hosts the archives of members, images from current and past exhibitions, and a directory of Sculptor Resources.
- Society of North American Goldsmiths: Resources
The Society of North American Goldsmiths (SNAG), an international educational nonprofit organization, was founded in 1969. Membership is open to anyone passionate about jewelry, design and metalsmithing. This is the society’s resources page.
- Victoria & Albert Museum: Ceramics | Metalwork | Sculpture
These three links provide access to subject headings for the V&A Ceramics, Metalwork and Sculpture collections. Each subject heading provides information on artists and techniques.
- The Clay Studio
The Clay Studio is a community-centered institution that has an international presence. The Studio operates out of Old City and offers gallery and studio space, classes, and outreach programs.
- Philadelphia Public Art @philart.net
A comprehensive and continually updated listing of Philadelphia Public Art works that includes sculpture titles, an artist directory, resources, and self-guided tour directions (designed by the webmaster).
- Philadelphia Museum of Art: Ceramics | Metalwork | Sculpture
The PMA’s ceramics, metalwork and sculpture holdings span from East Asian Art to the Renaissance, to Modern and Contemporary. These links provide a view of the collection by classification. See the Curatorial Departments or visit the PMA’s library for more in-depth information on the collection.
- Philadelphia Sculptors
Since 1996 Philadelphia Sculptors has been providing opportunities and resources for area artists. Resources include group exhibitions, a member’s web gallery, an annual student show, news, and a collection of links to additional online resources.
- Rodin Museum
Located between the PMA and the new Barnes Foundation on the Parkway, the Rodin Museum is the largest collection of the artist’s work outside of Paris.
Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! firstname.lastname@example.org or 215-965-4054.