Designing Sound for Animation The art of game design : a book of lenses iPad for artists Adobe Photoshop CS6 classroom in a book
 Storyboarding : turning script to motion Spectrum 19 Digital painting techniques Adobe Illustrator CS6 classroom in a book

The Interactive & Motion Arts BFA program is designed for students who want to pursue careers as visual artists in the fields of animation, game art, and mobile media design. The Library is continually acquiring materials that will support the Interactive and Motion Arts program.

TIPS ON SEARCHING FOR INTERACTIVE AND MOTION ARTS MATERIALS

To search for materials in Connelly Library, use the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). The OPAC can be accessed at library.moore.edu. If you are having trouble finding material relevant to your research, ask a librarian for help!

GO TO:

Journals

The Library subscribes to over 100 periodicals with a focus on scholarly and trade journals, but also including several popular magazines and newspapers. The collection ranges from publications on contemporary art to academic journals on art education. The Library strives to represent all majors in its periodical collection.

All print journals are for library-use only. The Library’s subscription databases provide access to a wide range of abstracts and full-text articles that can be accessed online. Go to the Electronic Resources page to access periodical databases and online encyclopedias.

Some Interactive and Motion Arts-related titles are:

  • 3 X 3
  • 3D World
  • Animation Magazine
  • Communciation Arts
  • DV: Digital Video
  • Graphic Design USA
  • Illustration
  • ImagineFX
  • Leonardo

The Free Library of Philadelphia (FLP) and Philadelphia Museum of Art (PMA) own a variety of journals that may be useful for your research. In addition, we have reciprocal borrowing privileges with the University of the Arts and the Philadelphia Art Institute (AI). Below are the titles of journals, including location and date of holdings:

  • Digital Media FLP: Current year only.
  • Wired FLP: Current year only.
  • Computer arts AI: Past two years.

TOP

Subject Headings

You can search for materials by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, SUBJECT, OR CALL NUMBER. A few of the subject headings that may be useful in a search for Illustration-related materials are:

You can also search by the name of a software (“Maya”) or animator (“Burton, Tim”).

Copy the entire call number for any titles that are of interest. Note the location and status of the title. Where is it located? Is it available?

TOP

Call Numbers

If you want to browse through the collection, try these call number ranges in the Main Collection, the Oversize section and the Reference section for Illustration-related materials:

  • GV1469.15-1469.62: Computer games, Video games
  • NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • NC997-1003: Commercial art
  • NC1300-1766: Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
  • QA76.75-76.765: Computer software
  • T351-385: Mechanical drawing
  • TK5101-6720: Telecommunication and media
  • TR287-500: Photographic processing
  • TR845-899: Cinematography

TOP

Online Resources

  • 3DTotal.com

    3Dtotal offers training products, an inspirational gallery, a free texture library and hundreds of free tutorials on a variety of subjects (including Photoshop, Painter, and Maya).

  • Adobe TV

    Adobe TV is Adobe’s online TV network, offering free training, inspiration, and information about the latest Adobe products and services.

  • AREA Digital Entertainment & Visualization Community

    AREA is an Autodesk online community for 2D and 3D artists — with free tutorials and downloads, movie and image galleries, professional industry artist interviews and job posting boards. AREA members also have access to Product-specific discussion forums, and blogs by Autodesk Media & Entertainment Software Product Developers./p>

  • CG Society

    The Computer Graphics Society is a professional organization that supports artists at every level by offering a range of services to connect, inform, educate and promote digital artists worldwide. Registration is required for some parts of the site.

  • Gamasutra

    The online free version of Game Developer Magazine. Weekly articles on all aspects of game design and threads for discussion, as well as job postings and a Game Career Guide.

  • Gnomon Workshop

    Part of the Gnomon School of Visual Effects in Hollywood, The Gnomon Workshop offers artists news and interviews, a community forum, as well as free set of video tutorials to registered users. Also see Gnomon’s CG Channel for industry news, online galleries, and competition information.

  • Layers

    Although Layers Magazine is no longer in-print, their website continues to publish free Creative Suite video tutorials to constantly bring you the “Everything Adobe” content.

  • Motionographer

    Motionographer is a source of inspiration for filmmakers, animators and designers. The site features outstanding work from studios, freelancers and students, as well as providing reviews and discussion on current issues within the field.

TOP

Local Resources

  • Geekadelphia

    Geekadelphia blogs (and draws) about comics, games, movies in the Philadelphia area and beyond. They also post local events, and host the Annual Geek Awards.

  • The Hacktory

    The Hacktory offers access to knowledge, tools and materials to find the intersection between art and technology. They provide formal instruction in technical topics and a central meeting place with accessible, sophisticated tools, as well as a weekly (free) Project Night.

  • Philadelphia Game Lab

    While still in development, Philadelphia Game Lab aims to create a new epicenter for game technology and creative development in the Philadelphia region. The have initiated the Grassroots Game Conference scheduled for October 2013, and continue to organize several University Initiatives in the area.

TOP

Still didn’t find what you’re looking for here? Ask a Librarian! library@moore.edu or 215-965-4054.

0 Responses to “Interactive and Motion Arts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s





%d bloggers like this: